Family

Waiting for Danielle


I haven’t blogged in awhile. I confess I’ve been a little distracted. Part of the reason is I have a script I’m trying to finish by the end of the year, and I’ve been channeling most of my writing time to that.

Danielle

Danielle displaying her wounded thumb, sliced open earlier that day on a can of peaches. But at the same time, she is smiling and giving thumbs up. That's Danielle's M.O. in a nutshell. She's had more than her share of health issues (the vast majority NOT self-inflicted), but tends to just keep going with a positive attitude.

But the bigger reason is that on Christmas Day, we got a phone call from my missionary daughter, Danielle. She’s been serving a mission for our church for close to a year and a half on the other side of the country, most recently in New Hampshire.

You have to understand that telephone calls home are a rare thing for missionaries, who are pretty much limited to weekly letters or emails. But Mother’s Day and Christmas are the exceptions. So Christmas Day was pretty exciting for us. It was like the big present we saved for last.

And during that big present, Danielle dropped a little bombshell on us. We knew she’d been struggling with back problems for many weeks, but she told us the pain had gotten to the point where it was looking like she might have to come home sooner than her scheduled release date of Jan. 26, 2011 in order to get some much-needed treatment.

She has thoroughly loved being able to devote herself full time to serving others, so we were sad for her that this opportunity would be coming to an end sooner than expected. But there is no denying that we were pretty excited to be able to get her back soon, not just to get that back taken care of, but also for some of those world famous Danielle hugs.

As I write this Thursday night, we were supposed to be driving to the airport to pick her up. But we got a call this afternoon that weather had delayed Danielle’s flight out of New Hampshire, which would make it impossible for her to catch her connecting flight out of Chicago. And with holiday travelers heading home this weekend, the next flight out she can get is not until Monday.

Monday.

It’s only a matter of a few extra days, but still, pretty disappointing for those of us on the other end. Plus it prolongs those parental worries just that much longer. Sorry, this post doesn’t have much to do with Liken, except to explain why I haven’t posted anything in awhile.

But in a few days, we’ll have Danielle back in our lives, and all will be right again in the world. So right, in fact, that I’ll be up for doing another blog post.

This’ll come out wrong, but let me just say that even though I have no idea what it will be about, I’m looking forward to my next blog post. A lot.

